A year in retrospect

Ah 2010, I won’t miss you when you are gone. I’m sorry, that is just how it is. You were the best of years and the worst of years. I was asked today if I thought a year ago that I would be here. Oh goodness no. So let us look back from whence we came and be thankful for where we are.

Last Christmas: I spent pretending my marriage wasn’t falling apart. I also didn’t really know what I wanted from life. Nursing school? Paramedic Class? Chocolate cafe? (yeah that was a thought) Stay at home wife? NO, NO and NO. I was so against that notion even a year ago that I’m not sure how I got here. As all things do, in January, my life changed completely. When I say completely, I mean someone upended my life and gave it a good shake. It seems funny to me now, how blind I was to the good that was bound to happen after I recovered from the earthquake. Just as fire cleanses the forest floor to prepare for new growth, so was I to be cleansed. A pretty way of saying; It hurt like hell but look here I am on the other side and boy have I grown!

Lets summarize so as not to bore the audience:

Last year I:

Got kicked out. Found out ex husband was cheating on me. Had a heart attack scare. Had a doctor yell at me for not taking care of myself. Got Divorced. Got an apartment. Chose to go after what I want in life and stop changing for others. Met a great and fabulous guy. Learned to knit. Learned to weave. Learned to spin. Rolled my SUV off a 20ft embankment with only 2 stitches and some (continuing) neck problems. Started dating previously mentioned great and fabulous guy. Went to New York for the first time. Got engaged. Started a mini farm. Got married. Became a stepmom to 3 of the coolest “kids” ever. Quit my job and decided that staying home and working on my business was what I wanted to do with my life.  WHEW!

Oh my, now it is December again and I hardly recognize myself. I am happier, more thankful and more fulfilled than I have ever been. I have recognized a joy in being yourself and being loved for it. My husband is the most supportive guy and without him I doubt very much I’d be where I am. You see, saying you are going to be yourself and doing it no matter what takes guts. I have guts in very short supply. Oh but support, well that I have in spades.

So to wrap up, what could be my longest and least cohesive post yet, this has been 2010. Brought to you by life. Go out and live it, be yourself and give people a chance, because you never know what next year might bring. 2011 here we come!

About sissysspinnings

Twenty-something lady addicted to all things fiber... Natural fiber mostly. Knitting. Spinning. Weaving. Raising fiber animals. Any and all writing, reading etc. Homesteading. Hobby Farming. Ranching. Animals. Self-sustaining. Eco-friendly. Recycling. I am down to earth and try my best not to be an eco-snob. I am the type of girl who thinks you should be able to drive a jacked up pick up truck and still be earth friendly. (Perhaps not while driving your truck, but still)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A year in retrospect

  1. Patrick Wber says:

    Yes, and We are very, very grateful to God for His faithfulness, protection and guidance for you through it all.

    We love you and will always be there for you (until we are taken Home), believe in you, hope and pray for you…

    Dad

Leave a Reply

