A rose by any other name…

I fear I have grossly and hugely misnamed my blog. Oh dear. I am sitting here wondering how on earth I can possibly write about spinning, knitting and weaving when I am (sadly) quite horrible at all of it! Wait, that might be self pity talking, I’m not sure. Let me check. Nope, Nope that was me.

What brought on this self doubting, whiny and utterly unattractive bought of hysterical behavior? Why I tried to knit in the dark of course. Oh and possibly it is from prematurely announcing we had fixed my spinning wheel. Which of course, we had not. But I digress. Before you scold me for being outrageously negative, I am actually quite amused.

After all, I have a secret.

When my hubby gets home I can tell him all this and he’ll say something sweet such as:”oh this is just a learning phase” or “You are so talented” Which of course I will argue with but inside I will agree that after all I am still learning, and if following a pattern is talent, well then talented I am. So see every time we get discouraged, at least where fiber is concerned, we can simply manipulate the situation until our feelings toward it change. Don’t like the yarn on your spindle? Twist it some more or (gasp) twist it less. What a concept. Change your attitude toward the situation and the situation will start to change. Or maybe it only seems to but either way your attitude won’t be nearly so blue.

So I won’t go and change my blog name, even though you’ll probably read more off subject musings and random fiber related mistakes than actual spinning advice. I hope you will enjoy the journey as much as I enjoy sharing it with you, just please take this piece of advice away from today.

Ahem.

Do not under any circumstances, nor for any reason, attempt to knit in the dark. It may after all become a blog post and you’ll have to admit to your readers that you dropped several stitches (and refused to mend them) and that the wristlet glove you were attempting to design (because after all you didn’t like the free online pattern’s instructions) turned out indescribably large and lumpy.

And that my friends is advice for the diary. It bears repeating.

DO NOT KNIT IN THE DARK

About sissysspinnings

Twenty-something lady addicted to all things fiber... Natural fiber mostly. Knitting. Spinning. Weaving. Raising fiber animals. Any and all writing, reading etc. Homesteading. Hobby Farming. Ranching. Animals. Self-sustaining. Eco-friendly. Recycling. I am down to earth and try my best not to be an eco-snob. I am the type of girl who thinks you should be able to drive a jacked up pick up truck and still be earth friendly. (Perhaps not while driving your truck, but still)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

