Oh my blog how i have missed thee

Goodness, it has been a while hasn’t it? Well I’m back from an accidental hiatus with new news. Which is rather redundant but still.
I am now the proud owner of a new-to-me-but-used spinning wheel. Yes even after the last wheel that may never work I have done it again. I purchased it used but actually spun on it before i purchased it so I am a bit more confident!! It is an Ashford Traveler and quite the looker. I even got my mom spinning on it a bit. That was quite fun, especially since she squeezed her eyes shut as if I was taking her bungee jumping!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I have also managed to accidentally win a challenge from a friend on Twitter!! She sent me an absolutely beautiful skein of her hand-spun, hand-dyed yarn. It is the most incredible blue and is quietly awaiting a new life as Elegant Elbow-length Gauntlets! Can’t wait to begin this project!

Another twitter friend has me hopelessly hooked on her yarns spun together on a drop spindle. So much work involved for such lovely yarns! I ordered my first skein from her in Tigress. It is a 100% merino yarn on browns tans and creams. It is destined as a slip. ;0 She also sent me a mini skein as a thank you gift! Adorable purple with flecks of blues and greens! It’s destiny is to be determined, I am thinking a headband or belt mixed with cream yarn.

And last but not least…… I have finally completed my very first yarnbomb!! For those of you who still do not know what yarnbombing is I encourage you to look it up on Google images. A quick explanation is that it is an urban display of textile art to liven up cold, utilitarian spaces. Some examples include, trees, light poles, subway trains and in the case of a few enterprising women… a whole town. Oh my! Mine is simply a chicken eating my mailbox. Yes, my mailbox… I do not have the guts yet to yarnbomb on publicly owned items yet. Yes I am the equivalent of a terrified textile terrorist. I was never meant to spray paint overpasses or bridge walls. That is ok with me, I feel as though graffiti should enhance (as is the case in L.A.) not detract from public spaces.

So far that is all. I wanted to update you so no one felt left out or behind, so now that we are all on the same page… Have a blessed day and remember to enjoy the fibers in your own life 😉

About sissysspinnings

Twenty-something lady addicted to all things fiber... Natural fiber mostly. Knitting. Spinning. Weaving. Raising fiber animals. Any and all writing, reading etc. Homesteading. Hobby Farming. Ranching. Animals. Self-sustaining. Eco-friendly. Recycling. I am down to earth and try my best not to be an eco-snob. I am the type of girl who thinks you should be able to drive a jacked up pick up truck and still be earth friendly. (Perhaps not while driving your truck, but still)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

