8 soaps a felted…

I found myself humming the tune of 12 Days of Christmas as I was felting soap today. I blame my 6-year-old step-son who sang a rousing rendition of 12 Dogs of Christmas this past year. Oh how I wish I could share that video with you, you would laugh hysterically, I did. Speaking of that precocious 6-year-old, he is the inspiration behind my new felted soap critters. When I mentioned making felted bunnies for Easter he decided I should make felted decorated eggs too. He also suggested selling them together, because “that would make more sense.” Then I mention making a purely boyish soap and suggest eyeballs. He ran with this one suggesting “blood-shocked” (his words) eyes, “like really tired ones.” We decided that eyes of different colors would be best. Boys, or girls could then pick eyes that match their own. So today I started to wet felt the bodies of 2 Eyes, 2 Bunnies and 2 more Lady Bugs (which didn’t excite him as much as Eyes and Bunnies). I think he will be proud. He told me once, as we made pipe-cleaner critters, that he was the idea person and I just make stuff. Wow. I suppose that should be a blow to the old self-esteem but if you knew him you would know he is positively guileless. So I am content having my idea man, I will just make stuff. 🙂

I thought to share this cute thought before I drag out my soap grater and prepare to melt some down for eggs. Enjoy your day!

About sissysspinnings

Twenty-something lady addicted to all things fiber... Natural fiber mostly. Knitting. Spinning. Weaving. Raising fiber animals. Any and all writing, reading etc. Homesteading. Hobby Farming. Ranching. Animals. Self-sustaining. Eco-friendly. Recycling. I am down to earth and try my best not to be an eco-snob. I am the type of girl who thinks you should be able to drive a jacked up pick up truck and still be earth friendly. (Perhaps not while driving your truck, but still)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 8 soaps a felted…

  1. Rebecca/Offgridlife says:

    Sounds like a cute little boy and cute ideas too!

  2. Haley says:

    Hilarious! “…he was the idea person and I just make stuff.”

Leave a Reply

