Spring is here…

I love spring. Is there anyone who doesn’t? The long winter finally gives way to crocus and daffodils. I find myself making excuses to be outside more than inside. My housekeeping may suffer but my tan doesn’t! Now that is not to say I go outside and lay about, I wish. This Spring has brought so many new things to my life. I’d like to share them with you.

I have chickens of my own for the first time, even though my parents always had them I never liked them. When they are yours you start to notice their individual personalities and traits. For example Goldie Hawn will chase everyone away from any fruit bits she finds in the compost pile. Harriet has a very soft melodic voice and is a really good mommy. Sweetie Pie is very protective of his hens and likes to hear himself crow. With chickens comes chicks, by far the most rewarding part of chicken keeping. This spring between my incubator and Harriet we hatched five chicks. So far we have lost only one and hopefully the rest are healthy and happy to maturity.

My Angoras are ready to be harvested again and love a good brushing. This spring I may be getting little ones from Raja my French doe. I have no idea if she is carrying or not. You are supposed to be able to palpate and feel tiny grapes, you try it, it isn’t as easy as it sounds. However, she is crankier than usual and her belly seems swollen. She is also eating like a small cow, which in and of itself is nothing new!

My hubby built me two garden beds one for veggies and one for potatoes. I still need two more but the poor guy works more than two hours from home so I am being patient. This year I won’t be struggling on an apartment balcony that was mostly in the shade. I actually have my own space to garden and a whole box of heirloom seeds ready to go.

Of course there is also the bees! They arrive Sunday and I will be picking them up from my dad after helping him “install” his own package. From then on I am on my own, since hubby is allergic and does not own a bee suit. He also doesn’t think much of bees except for honey. Everyone loves that part of bees!

There is so much to be thankful for this spring! Aside from the peace and joy the mini farm brings me, there is also my wonderful family. I have been so blessed this year.

Enjoy your own Spring season!

 

About sissysspinnings

Twenty-something lady addicted to all things fiber... Natural fiber mostly. Knitting. Spinning. Weaving. Raising fiber animals. Any and all writing, reading etc. Homesteading. Hobby Farming. Ranching. Animals. Self-sustaining. Eco-friendly. Recycling. I am down to earth and try my best not to be an eco-snob. I am the type of girl who thinks you should be able to drive a jacked up pick up truck and still be earth friendly. (Perhaps not while driving your truck, but still)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

