To knit or not to knit…

It has been a while, hasn’t it? I am terribly sorry to leave you all hanging like this, but it has been a busy spring.

My business has been on hold while I get caught up on some personal matters. My drum carder and spinning wheel are collecting dust. The loom has had a moment of fame though, in order to weave my mother a rug for her Birthday and/or Mother’s Day. It was my first rug and I am sad to say I didn’t take a single photo to share with you all. Knitting needles, half-finished projects and yarns are packed away in the spare room for now. It is after all supposed to warm up soon and most of my projects are wintery in nature. I am intermittently working on a tank top I hope to have finished this summer, but it is slow going. I also need to spin the rest of the yarn for it.

Outside, the garden is finally put in and mostly planted. Almost one hundred percent of the seeds are heirloom, with a few exceptions such as cheap lettuces and leftover peas from last year. My Hubby fixed the clothesline and we painted it yellow. I was able to use it once before the rains set in. Raja, my French Angora rabbit, had a single baby this year and it is growing like the proverbial weed. The chicks are growing fast and another wave of eggs are comfortable turning away in the incubator. One of my ducks, it turns out, is female and learning how to lay eggs. I am almost consistently getting 4 eggs a day between my four laying hens and the duck. I have been selling eggs too, the neighbor lady buys a dozen or so every other weekend.

The bees are doing well I think, I really need a sunny day to check them. It has been raining a LOT have I mentioned that? ha ha

On the to do list:

Finish planting, if the sun ever comes back.

Finish the Chicken Coop, for my Silkies and the assortment of chicks.

Among other things that we all must face; dishes, laundry, cooking, cleaning and various errands. My Step-Son will be off school for the summer soon and we will have him every other week. I am looking forward to having him around more since we only see him every other weekend during the school year.

As I write this I am catching a few moments of quiet at Three in the morning, whilst dogs and Hubby sleep. With the odd hours Hubby has been working and my inability to stop brain function at will, my sleep habits are a bit off kilter.

I actually came out to knit, but after a few rows of the Christmas Sock That Never Ends I set aside the needles to talk to you. I hope I have not bored you.

To Knit or not to Knit: That is the question.

I ask you: Do you knit less during the Spring and Summer? If not what is on your needles this time of year?

I’d love to hear from you, be blessed, and we will talk soon.

About sissysspinnings

Twenty-something lady addicted to all things fiber... Natural fiber mostly. Knitting. Spinning. Weaving. Raising fiber animals. Any and all writing, reading etc. Homesteading. Hobby Farming. Ranching. Animals. Self-sustaining. Eco-friendly. Recycling. I am down to earth and try my best not to be an eco-snob. I am the type of girl who thinks you should be able to drive a jacked up pick up truck and still be earth friendly. (Perhaps not while driving your truck, but still)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to To knit or not to knit…

  1. To knit or not? That is no question. Always. Always knit. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I knit the same things year round. I actually get irritated by the knitting mags in the summer and spring that try to make me knit according to the season. If I wait till it gets cold to cast on a sweater, I will not have a sweater when it gets cold. Likewise, if I wait till the summer to knit that lovely lace confection, what will I drape over my shoulders on a cool summers night? ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. jennyg82 says:

    While I always have something on my needles, they don’t do much clicking this time of year. I’m theoretically working on a sweater for my mother, but no progress has been made since the pigs arrived and the garden was tilled. Spring feels like the time for big, vigorous activities. For me knitting feels cozy and quiet…very wintery!

  3. Kim says:

    I knit all year long. I tend to switch to socks a lace shawls in the summer since knitting a kimono 1 piece sweater for best friends b-day during july(dumb and hot I was)

Leave a Reply

