Something Old, Something New…

I have been on a try-something-new-kick recently. I have tried things in my kitchen, that two years ago I would have scoffed at. Among them are Blackberry Wine, Red Wine Vinegar and sauerkraut. On the non-food side I have also made my own shampoo.

With any new venture there will be failure or learning curves as my Hubby says. There are also successes, I’d like to share both with you.

Ahh shampoo. Did you know that if you grate soap, melt it together with water and bottle it that it will solidify again? Seems obvious, doesn’t it? Well it never occurred to me, especially since I was following a recipe for shampoo. After about a day in the bottle the coconut oil slid to the top and the rest, well, I could have used it as a weight. So into the pot again with more water. I have a shampoo now that resembles jello but it works. At this point that is good enough for me.

Wine was comparably easy. I had several pounds of berries in the freezer left over from last year. We are lucky to have a wonderful “Organic Practice” Blackberry farm near us. With less than $40 in equipment (not including berries) I set to work. The berries were mixed with sugar and squished a bit to release their juice. After several days I strained off the juice and added yeast and more sugar. A week after that I siphoned it off into two small carboys (glass jugs) and now all I can do is wait.

Sauerkraut was by the far the easiest. Mom gave me a cabbage fresh from her garden. (More accurately I pilfered it from the CSA leavings) Combined with salt and weighted with a plate I finished that in ten minutes.

Next time I think I will try something with a bit more instant gratification. However since my inspiration comes from 1800’s kitchens and self-sufficiency books, I am not sure how.

I would still like to make olives, sourdough starter (that doesn’t turn pink), grow coffee and learn more about natural medicine.

Do you have a favorite recipe, staple or beauty product that you make? Do you remember your grandmother making anything that you wish you had the recipe for?

About sissysspinnings

Twenty-something lady addicted to all things fiber... Natural fiber mostly. Knitting. Spinning. Weaving. Raising fiber animals. Any and all writing, reading etc. Homesteading. Hobby Farming. Ranching. Animals. Self-sustaining. Eco-friendly. Recycling. I am down to earth and try my best not to be an eco-snob. I am the type of girl who thinks you should be able to drive a jacked up pick up truck and still be earth friendly. (Perhaps not while driving your truck, but still)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Something Old, Something New…

  1. Haley says:

    Ooooo, blackberry wine! Care to share the proportions of the ingredients? When you find out your results will you report here? Maybe my harvest next year will be big enough to try some wine! 🙂

    • I actually did a google search and combined some recipes! I made about 2 gallons and bottled about half that… after the pulp and such was removed. It tastes fabulous but needs aged. You should! My next attempt, after Mead, will be beer. There is this book called Sacred Healing Brews and I am dying to try some of their ideas!

Leave a Reply

