Living the dream…

Don’t you just hate it when people start a blog, you read some interesting posts and then *poof* they never write again?? Yeah, me too. I could hand you a million reasons why but you don’t come here for excuses do you? No, I didn’t think so.

I was chatting with a friend yesterday about all the work we have lined up and the lack of kitchen space we have. Somehow in the midst of it all I got a complement on being a country girl and “living the dream”. I almost laughed. (Actually to be honest I did laugh.) I am not sure how much my life looks like a dream to those outside it, but it is my dream life or at least the beginning of it. It may seem idyllic to live in the country, raise animals and work your way towards self-sufficiency, but that’s just it, it is work. I think that’s what most people fail to realize when they start out.

I’d love to say my day starts before the sun is up with a cup of coffee and that all my “chores” are done before noon. I can’t. My day usually starts with three alarms going off, none of which actually wake Hubby from dreamland. Once he is up and off to work I am usually back to sleep until (dare I admit) nine or ten in the morning. At which point I am upset with myself for sleeping in and the poor dogs have yellow eyes. Coffee? Oh sure, after I feed the animals. While still lacking the sheep, water buffalo, milk cow and yak that my little heart desires I have plenty to do. We have 14 chickens (in 3 areas), 2 ducks, 5 rabbits, six cats and the aforementioned dogs. Usually I have everyone fed and watered in twenty minutes if I am being lazy forty-five.  eat when I come in and then load the dishwasher and start laundry. If I don’t have errands to run I work on my fiber business, do my coursework or clean the house. Still I don’t manage to keep everything as tidy as I would prefer and my business is sorely lacking in quality time. There are so many upsides though! This year I have made wine, mead, rye bread and homemade noodles. I have harvested honey from my own bees and strained beautiful beeswax for my Hubby’s woodworking projects. My garden was semi-productive unless you count the overabundance of cucumbers the chickens ate. (One can only make cucumber so many ways!) Even chickens don’t eat the whole thing, they fight over seeds and flesh and leave the skins to the compost. I spin and weave and knit. I cook and have been buying in bulk which is oddly satisfying. There is something so comforting about buckets of different flours lined up in a row. I am not sure why, just humor me.

Being a country girl, homemaker or whatever label you choose is a full time job. You don’t get to quit when the clock reaches a certain time. I often joke that the pay is terrible but the benefits are amazing. It’s true though, there are so many benefits. (Not just buckets of flour either!) It’s worth it. It may not be a dream that works for anyone else, but it’s mine and I wouldn’t trade it for the world.

Now if you will excuse me I have some living to do! 🙂

Enjoy your day!

About sissysspinnings

Twenty-something lady addicted to all things fiber... Natural fiber mostly. Knitting. Spinning. Weaving. Raising fiber animals. Any and all writing, reading etc. Homesteading. Hobby Farming. Ranching. Animals. Self-sustaining. Eco-friendly. Recycling. I am down to earth and try my best not to be an eco-snob. I am the type of girl who thinks you should be able to drive a jacked up pick up truck and still be earth friendly. (Perhaps not while driving your truck, but still)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Living the dream…

  1. Emily Heath says:

    I think whatever lifestyle you have, if you are a hard-working person, you end up working hard. I work in a city and get up at 6am to leave for work at 7am, arrive at work at 8am then leave at 4.30pm to get home at 6.00pm as the rush-hour traffic is worse in the afternoon. After that I cook dinner, wash-up, put the washing-machine on etc, which if I cook a proper dinner can easily take an hour or two. It feels busy to me, and I don’t even have kids to worry about – don’t know how working mums do it.

    My mum is my hero – she used to work as a infant school teacher all day, come home, make dinner, and then work all evening plus weekends marking homework/preparing lessons for her class. I could never hope to match her stamina.

    • I agree completely!! It doesn’t matter what you do there is a lot of work in the basics of life. I used to work an “outside job” I was up at 4am to work by 6am where I would work 12 hours, come home, cook, clean etc. You are absolutely right, I couldn’t have said it better myself.

  2. In a sea of complaining, and moaning about their life, it’s always refreshing to hear someone content. Let out a few content sighs on a rocking chair for me.

Leave a Reply

