A New Yarn…

It’s November and I would love to write about the Christmas gifts I am knitting this year. I am so excited about all of them. However if I tell you about them then the secret is out and there will be no surprise when they are unwrapped!! Aggg it’s a puzzlement.

Instead I will tell you about a recent fiber experience and the absolutely incredible, accidental result.

In an attempt to update my Etsy Shop I ordered three pounds of roving. It was a lovely Cotswold lamb and Alpaca blend. I was so excited that immediately upon receipt I began to dye all of it. My inexperience got the best of me that day because every single one felted in the dyebath. I didn’t even realize this until I had posted each one in my shop. I actually attempted to spin one of the rovings that I had left out for me. I couldn’t separate the fibers by hand. I cried, I ranted and eventually I removed all the roving from the shop. Then I put it in a box and ignored it for a couple weeks. (It was of course the mature thing to do.) My hubby kept asking If I could put the rovings in my drum carder to sort them out. Eventually I attempted it. Lo and Behold beautiful batts rolled off my drum carder. The colors were a bit muted from what I had originally anticipated but oh the softness. It was as if I had never dyed them. I have no idea how this is possible really. It just happened and boy am I grateful. Did I mention the cost of the fiber? Without dye and my labor I could have been out eighty-seven dollars. Ouch.

One of the rovings became a play swatch for random application of dye. I splashed orange and pink, blue and purple over the white roving. It was the most obnoxious of rovings once it had dried. I loved it, but I became completely captivated by it once I rolled it through my drum carder. It was then that I realized I couldn’t return this to my Etsy shop. It had become slightly muted like the others but the resulting yarn was amazing.  My parents were visiting while I was plying the yarn and my mom loved it as much as I did. I had accidentally achieved a variegated yarn.

Moral of the story: Never give up on a mistake. Sometimes you find incredible beauty in a lost cause.

I’d like to share pictures of the yarn that makes me wax poetic. Keep in mind that the camera does not capture all the colors of this gorgeous yarn.

 

About sissysspinnings

Twenty-something lady addicted to all things fiber... Natural fiber mostly. Knitting. Spinning. Weaving. Raising fiber animals. Any and all writing, reading etc. Homesteading. Hobby Farming. Ranching. Animals. Self-sustaining. Eco-friendly. Recycling. I am down to earth and try my best not to be an eco-snob. I am the type of girl who thinks you should be able to drive a jacked up pick up truck and still be earth friendly. (Perhaps not while driving your truck, but still)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A New Yarn…

  1. jennyg82 says:

    Excellent lesson!

Leave a Reply

